What outcome is expected when a player contacts the ball in a legal manner from behind the attack line?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

When a player contacts the ball in a legal manner from behind the attack line, the play is classified as a valid back-row attack. This means that as long as the player makes contact with the ball while positioned behind the attack line and adheres to the rules regarding hitting the ball, their play is legitimate and can contribute positively to their team’s scoring opportunity.

For a back-row player, attacking the ball is permissible if they jump from behind the attack line and hit the ball above the net. This is crucial because it allows back-row players to be more involved in the attack without being restricted in ways that front-row players are. Therefore, this understanding is essential for both players and officials on the court as they determine whether a back-row attack is within the rules of play.

The concept of what occurs when a ball does not cross the net or becomes a fault comes into play in other choices, but they don't apply in this situation since the focus is on the legality of the attack itself.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy