What is the outcome if a ball spiked by Team R bounces off a player on Team S's foot?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

When a ball is spiked and it subsequently bounces off a player’s foot, the ruling is that the ball is still considered to be in play unless it has touched the ground or gone out of bounds. In this scenario, if Team R spikes the ball and it hits a player from Team S on the foot, the point is awarded to Team S as the ball remains in play and does not directly touch the ground before being played.

Team S still has an opportunity to play the ball after the contact, and since Team R did not successfully score a point, Team S maintains control. Under the rules governing volleyball, the touch or bounce from the foot does not constitute a violation that would grant a point to the attacking team (Team R) as long as Team S can legally play the ball afterwards.

Consequently, awarding the point to Team S reflects that Team R has not fulfilled the requirements for a point-scoring play in this situation, leading to the conclusion that their actions did not result in scoring, supporting the answer chosen.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy