What is the correct ruling for a ball mishandled with prolonged contact on the first ball over the net?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

When a ball is mishandled with prolonged contact on the first ball over the net, the correct ruling is that it constitutes illegal play. In volleyball, the rules stipulate that a player must not hold or lift the ball, which means that prolonged contact—defined as when the ball remains in contact with a player's body for too long—results in an infraction. This rule is in place to maintain the integrity of the game and ensure fair play, as holding or lifting the ball can provide unfair advantages during play, such as allowing for easier positioning or control of the ball.

The concept of "prolonged contact" is key here; it indicates that the ball was not rebounded cleanly or hit according to the standards of the game, causing a violation. Therefore, the action of mishandling the ball in this manner rightly leads to a stoppage in play, penalizing the team that committed the infraction.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy