What is the consequence of a ball contacting the net during play?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

When a ball contacts the net during play, it is still considered in play as long as it crosses within the antennas. This means that if the ball touches the net but goes over and lands in the opponent's court or touches the opponent's side, the rally continues. The key aspect is the ball's trajectory; it must travel between the antennae to remain in play, regardless of whether it touches the net.

In volleyball, the dynamics of the game allow for instances where a ball can contact the net and still be viable. This is a critical rule to remember, as it affects the flow of gameplay and can lead to exciting moments if a rally is maintained despite a net contact. The other choices suggest scenarios that do not accurately reflect the rules of the game regarding net contact, which emphasizes just how fundamental this rule is to understanding volleyball officiating.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy