Is it true that the libero must be positioned on the court when the lineup is checked by the Second Referee?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

The statement is false because the libero is not required to be positioned on the court when the lineup is checked by the Second Referee. During the pre-match lineup check, teams present their players and the positions they will occupy, but the libero can be away from the court at that time. It is customary for the starting players to be present, but the libero's presence is not mandatory before the match begins or during lineup checks. This allows for flexibility in how teams manage their players as the match approaches, which is particularly useful given the libero's unique role in substitution patterns.

The libero, being a specialized player, primarily enters the game during play, typically to replace a back-row player while adhering to the rules governing substitution and rotation. Thus, the correct understanding is that their presence is not necessary at the time of lineup checks, making the answer "false."

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy