Is it allowed for a ball to be attacked if it has partially crossed the net, excluding a served ball?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

In volleyball, a ball that has partially crossed the net can indeed be attacked, as long as it is not a served ball. This applies to situations where the ball is in the process of crossing the net in a manner that allows for play, and players from either team may contact the ball to attempt an attack or play.

This rule facilitates dynamic and exciting gameplay, allowing for strategic plays that can occur when the ball is very close to the net. By permitting attacks on balls that have partially crossed, the game promotes engagement and swift responses from players, increasing the complexity and excitement of the match.

Situations involving a served ball are treated differently; a served ball must clear the net completely before it can be played by the receiving team. Additionally, timeouts and restrictions based on referee discretion do not apply here, as the rules explicitly outline that attacking a partially crossed ball is permissible. Thus, recognizing the allowance for attacking a ball in that position is crucial for players and officials alike.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy