If the right front on the receiving team is standing on the sideline but not across at serve contact, what is the ruling?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

The ruling that the right front player on the receiving team is not out-of-bounds and that play continues is based on the specific rules governing player positioning during a serve in volleyball. As long as the player is on or within the boundary lines when the serve is contacted, they are considered to be legal for participation in the play, regardless of their position in relation to the net or the court prior to the serve.

According to the rules, it is only when a player touches the boundary line or is completely outside of the boundary line at the moment of serve contact that they would be deemed out-of-bounds. In this case, since the player is standing on the sideline when the serve is executed, the play is valid and continues without interruption. Referees are trained to recognize this distinction, ensuring that the game flows smoothly and fairly. Therefore, the situation described justifies the continuation of play without penalties or warnings.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy