Can a ball be attacked when it has partially crossed the net?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

When considering whether a ball can be attacked when it has partially crossed the net, it's crucial to understand the rules surrounding attacks in volleyball. In this context, an attack is defined as an attempt to hit the ball with force across the net to score a point. The rule states that a ball may only be legally attacked if it has crossed completely over the top of the net.

However, the specific nuance that allows for an exception occurs when the ball is not a serve. Generally, if the ball has partially crossed the net and is on the opponent's side, players can reach over the net to play the ball, provided they are not interfering with the opponent's play or breaking any other rule. This interpretation aligns with the rules stating that only non-served balls (such as those in play during a rally) hold this flexibility.

Thus, the ability to attack a ball that has not yet fully crossed the net is contingent upon it not being served. When a ball is served, it must cross the plane of the net completely before being eligible for an attack. This distinction creates a gray area that differentiates between the two scenarios, reinforcing the effectiveness of strategic play in the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy