Can a back-row player contact the ball completely above the height of the net and complete an attack?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

A back-row player is permitted to attack the ball above the height of the net, but this is contingent on their positioning on the court. According to the rules, when a back-row player is located on or in front of the attack line, they must not contact the ball above the net height to complete an attack hit. This rule is designed to maintain fair play and balance between front-row and back-row players.

In contrast, if the back-row player is behind the attack line when they jump to attack, they are allowed to hit the ball above the net. This differentiation ensures that back-row players can't dominate the front-row space without certain restrictions. Understanding this positioning and its implications is crucial for proper officiating and maintaining the flow of the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy