At the moment of contact for a serve, where can the center front player's foot be?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

The correct response is that at the moment of contact for a serve, the center front player's foot can be on the center line but not over it. This is consistent with the rules of volleyball, which specify that a player must maintain proper positioning behind the end line as they serve. However, the foot may touch the center line, which is an acceptable position as long as it does not cross onto the opponent's side of the court or over the line itself.

This position ensures that the player is within legal boundaries while serving, as a violation occurs if the server steps on or over the end line during the act of serving. Options indicating that the foot can be completely off the court or on the bench negate the requirement for the player to be in a position to serve properly. Thus, the most accurate and rule-compliant positioning is for the foot to be on the center line, affirming the legality of the serve.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy