A tossed ball that contacts a backboard or its supports hanging in a vertical position over the serving area results in what kind of fault?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

A tossed ball that contacts a backboard or its supports while hanging in a vertical position over the serving area is regarded as a service fault that is not eligible for a re-serve. This ruling is based on the specific regulations governing service faults in volleyball. When the ball touches any object that is considered part of the playing area or interference, including the backboard or its supports, it is treated as an interruption of the service attempt.

In this scenario, the act of hitting the backboard signifies that the serve was unsuccessful and therefore constitutes a fault. Since the serve did not legally pass over the net within the designated playing area, it cannot be considered valid under the rules of the game. As a result, the server loses the point for that serve to the opposing team, and there is no opportunity to re-serve. Understanding this outcome is essential as it emphasizes the importance of the serve being completed within the established parameters to be considered legal.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy