A back-row player may legally complete an attack if what condition is met?

Prepare for the Volleyball Officiating Test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with hints and explanations. Achieve success in your exam!

A back-row player may legally complete an attack when the ball is completely above the net at the moment of contact. This is crucial because, in volleyball, the rules specify that back-row players are restricted in their ability to attack the ball when it is above the height of the net unless they jump from behind the attack line (also known as the 3-meter line).

If the ball is above the net at the time the player contacts it, this indicates that they have the opportunity to complete an attack without violating any rules of play. It is important for players and officials to understand this rule to ensure fair play and to maintain the integrity of the game.

The other options do not adequately address the necessary conditions for a back-row player to legally complete an attack. For example, having the ball below net height or a player’s foot on the attack line does not inherently qualify as a legal attack, while simply being behind the attack line does not automatically ensure the legality of the attack unless paired with the correct contact scenario with the ball.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy